Changing your outlook when you least want it.

Today and yesterday have been gloriously sunny and a welcome change from the biting cold and pervasive damp of a Scottish winter, living through its death-throes.  Daffodils all around, bees buzzing out of their slumber and butterflies basking on the fence- washing even dried outside instead of going rigid with frost.  What a glorious shift into spring with a happy smile towards an impending summer.

Couldn’t have come at a worse time.

I find myself very much affected, creatively, by the weather; right now I was relying on the incessant grey keeping me at my keyboard, contemplating a future battle of humanity against a totalitarian A.I.  Now I am forced into cheeriness, basking in the sun and listening to bird song – so bloody unfair!  So perhaps I will need to move onto the end of the story, where humanity triumphs and all is well.  The only problem with that is that I had not decided that was going to be the outcome so I need to find other happy moments to write about in the meantime and hope I can patch it all together in a cohesive manner.

On the plus side, this IS Scotland- I distinctly remember being on a camping holiday at Kinloch Rannoch in the Easter holidays when I awoke to find the tent sides pushed in by fresh snow-fall.  You’ve not truly been camping until you’ve made snowmen before breakfast! The grey and miserable days are sure to return and I can harness the correct mood again!

Leave a Reply

